iTu(n)esday

Oh nooooo.

I’m back at work. It’s opening week. As ever, things have gone from “This is gonna be a great year!” to: “Sweet Jesus what a clusterfuck.” 

Cross your fingers for me, kiddies.

It’s been a busy week, but more on that later. (Spoiler alert: I saw a mini horse that did not seem to be named Lil’ Sebastian.) Last night my man friend and I went to see another movie in the park, except we didn’t stick around for the movie, and it wasn’t in the park. Musical guest: the Handsome Family. I knew nothing about them except that they did the theme song to “True Detective,” but since I don’t have a TV that was a pretty moot point.

They dressed more like professors than any band I’ve ever seen, with the possible exception of the Decemberists. Also, for a band who writes fucking depressing songs (“As the rope of death strangles you…” began one [I paraphrase]) they are really, really funny.

This one was my favorite–a song you could argue (speciously) was scientific; how appropriate! A live performance, because wouldn’t you know it, this band doesn’t do music videos.

Leave a Reply

