iTu(n)esday

Well, guys, I’m a liberal, and we’re required to take a blood oath saying that we hate America, so the 4th of July isn’t really a big deal to me. It’s the day that scares my cat and makes him hide in the closet, and if I’m working summer school gives me a day off. So yeah, that’s all well and good, but it was never about boat rides or grilling or even getting drunk off PBR to me, although any of those things are a-ok with me.

Perhaps the least patriotic thing about me is: I do not love Beyonce. I don’t hate Beyonce, but I think she’s overrated, and I just don’t get why people are so bonkers over her.

That being said, last weekend I felt like I needed a good-time party jam, for no particular reason because I stayed home reading with the kitty all weekend and he doesn’t care much if I listen to good-time party jams or not. (He just doesn’t like music with computer-y sounds, which made my boyfriend say, “Your cat and I have very different taste in music,” and it made me laugh.) Anyway, I was thinking about how much I loved “Independent Women” when I was in high school, so that was my pick for the week. Brings me back to thinking that the world would be my oyster, when I thought, “Yeah! I’ll own my own house, and rock my own rock,” whereas now I’d never be able to throw up my hands; I’d just waggle a couple of fingers tentatively because that’s how many dollas I profit.

I gave money to Beyonce via iTunes but I refuse to give her any more YouTube hits. Here’s some awesome late ’90s/early aughts style instead.

th

 

Leave a Reply

