5 Reasons

 

th

…to see “The Grand Budapest Hotel.”

Wes Anderson has been my favorite director since I realized what a pretentious pseudo-hipster asshole I was turning out to be–right around senior year of high school. But Friday was the first time I’ve actually seen one of his movies in the theater. My Lord, it was so worth it. You should see it, too. Here’s why.

1. The colors. They are SO vivid on a big screen, especially the purple suits.

2. The art direction. If it doesn’t win an Oscar for something artistic next year, I’m suing.*

3. Tilda Swinton. She’s only in a few scenes, but she plays a rich old lady, and she’s virtually unrecognizable. It’s pretty incredible. She’s basically the catalyst for all the action.

4. It’s funny! I think most Wes Anderson movies veer toward the funny-sad, which is my favorite kind of funny. This one gets sad at the end, but mostly it’s just straight-up funny.

5. Jude Law. I will stop loving Jude Law when he stops being beautiful, which I assume will be never. Jude Law + Wes Anderson = the culmination of my life’s work.

*I spent the first 45 minutes of the movie thinking “It’s so BEAUTIFUL” every 10 seconds because of the first two reasons.

Leave a Reply

