Birthday resolutions

My birthday was not fantastic, insofar as it was parent-teacher conference night, and I had to work 13 hours, plus it snowed. I did get a free cupcake from Panera though, so it wasn’t all bad, and a very sweet handmade card from one of my favorite sixth-graders. 

But no one wants to hear about lame birthdays.

I decided a few years ago, when I still wrote in paper journals, before I started living with boyfriends, that I would make birthday resolutions instead of New Year’s resolutions. They seem more personal and less forced that way.

These are mine:

  • Finish the YA novel I started. Then send it to publishers. I think I’m cornering a niche.

  • Join a book club. In college I always thought, “I’m reading this novel that I like; why do we have to analyze the living hell out of it?” Now when I read a really good book I think, “WHO CAN I TALK ABOUT THIS WITH???”

  • Cook for people more often. I miss throwing dinner parties. Also, it would stop me from eating frozen pizzas every other night. Isa Does It was my birthday present to myself, so we can start there.
Leave a Reply

